Technological University Dublin School of Creative Arts in collaboration with Sherkin Island Development Society and Uillinn: West Cork Arts Centre is delighted to invite applications for the BA (Hons) Visual Art for the 2020/2021 academic year.

This four year modular honours degree offers a dynamic and creative programme in CONTEMPORARY VISUAL ART and is fully accredited, managed and delivered by the TU Dublin School of Creative Arts.

The programme will start in September 2020.

To find out more we invite you to attend an ONLINE presentation and discussion on

Thursday 7 May from 11am to 1pm

Register your interest at Eventbrite below and digital login details will be shared with participants 2 hours before the event:

Students, staff and islanders will be online to discuss the programme and take questions.

Below is an outline of the programme:

  • 11.00 Mary Sullivan – graduate, artist and winner of National Student Award (RDS Taylor Prize) 2018.
  • 11.15 Madge O’ Neill Collins – artist, facilitator and islander
  • 11.30 Glenn Loughran and Jesse Jones – artists and lecturers at The TU Dublin School of Creative Arts
  • 12.00 Discussion / Q+A


For further information contact the Programme Chair Dr. Glenn Loughran at [email protected] or see

Application deadline for the next intake of students is 5 June 2020

For application forms contact Admissions Office,

E: [email protected]

T: +353 (0)1 402 3445

Interviews will be held by Skype in June 2020. Applicants will be asked to present a portfolio of recent artwork. Successful applicants should be prepared to commence the programme in September 2020.


BA (hons) in Visual Art is a community-based, four year, honours degree, visual art programme based on Sherkin Island. It is fully accredited and delivered by the Dublin School of Creative Arts, Technological University Dublin (TU) in partnership with Sherkin Island Development Society (SIDS) and Uilinn: West Cork Arts Centre, and is part funded by the Department of Culture Heritage and the Gaeltacht and Cork County Council.